One of my friends recently posted something on Facebook about people going door to door asking for donations for a charity. He shared similar views with me. One of these views is "Oh hell no." Another: "Stop bothering me, sketchy people." I always have trouble with charities.
Like this. But I'm not smiling.
My parents and I carefully research which charities we plan on giving to each year. We see if the charity is rated well, and we decide how much money to give and when. We do this every year, and we all make a few generous donations to a range of charities both local and global. That way, we don't stretch our budget, and we know that our money is actually going to help someone. So when I'm at Harps and this bitch cashier is like, "Would you like to give a dollar to help children with cancer?" And I say no, and she gives me this look like I just raped a few kittens in front of her, I get a little angry. Because I have no idea what this charity is that she is trying to get me to donate to. Also, I love kittens. And I know that they are asked to do this in their jobs, but I hate when they get attitude about it. For all we know, the founder of this "charity" could be misusing these funds to get himself some heroin.
Maybe kittens should have more charities.
I also hate when people go door to door and say something like, "I'm poor and homeless and could you buy this sixty dollar cleaning solution to help me pay for my little sister's medical bills." Because no I will not. You know why? Because you live up the street in your normal house with your Escalade, and your brother and your mother came by last week to say the same thing. They also came by last year. Don't lie to me. And then they say something like, "Wow, you have this nice (house, car, purse), and you can't give a little to the poor." Bitch, shut up. The reason I have these nice things is because we save our money. We give where we see fit, and we make sure to budget and buy ourselves quality items, as well as save. So don't be pissy at me, Escalade boy. I'm watching you.
And your sister looks fine, man. No, not like that.
No comments:
Post a Comment