I wish I had done a blog for each episode of LOK, but didn't know if anyone would read them or how many of you actually watch it + most people (like me) watch the video reviews of it on YouTube. But I've watched all the episodes faithfully every Saturday since the 1st episode aired & have been itching to blog about the series ever since they've had the season final last week. I'm gonna try to talk about each character in this blog, what I thought about them, what my expectations where etc. and hopefully won't ramble too much, LOL.
Korra made a great Avatar to me, I was happy to find out she was a girl b/c she's such a tomboy that I think everyone thought she was a boy when they 1st saw her; especially when they showed her as a little kid with that pot belly *LOL* I thought it was cool that she could already do 3 of the 4 elements from a young age, but got upset that she took SO long to learn Air bending! At least it was cute that "love" seemed to trigger it & made the last episode awesome. I think she needs to practise her Water bending more b/c each time she used it, I expected her to be better at it than what they showed b/c Katara taught her after all + she's the Avatar. It seems like Fire is what she's best at since she used it so much & it has to do with how physical she is, but you'd think she'd be best at Water since she's from the Water Tribe & probably learned it 1st.
Tenzin was a very serious character & I didn't think he seemed like his father Aang at all except for when it came to him bending and taking care of the ones he loved etc. Also since Katara is his mom WHY wasn't he MIXED?! Me & Mimi both noticed that and got upset b/c cartoons don't like to do that sort of stuff, I know that some people don't think the Water Tribe people are "Black" but whatever their race is they still have Brown skin & you'd think they'd at least let Tenzin have a tan skintone or something. I did see that the other 2 children of Aang & Katara are both "Black" or whatever, so I'm looking forward to seeing them in the 2nd season. I'm already in love with crazy Boomi.
Tenzin's wife Pema turned out to be very funny & made some funny comments + faces. IDK if they're trying to have that many kids on purpose to repopulate the Air benders or what, but I think since she's had the baby boy that she's been carrying in her stomach since the 1st episode that she's gonna stop for now & just have an even number of kids.
Their Kids: Jinora, Ikki & Meelo. Jinora seems to be very calm, mature, smart & reminds me more of Aang than the rest of her family. I also think she's Tenzin's favorite of the 3 of them or maybe he just pays more attention to her b/c she's the oldest, they do seem to act alike too though. Ikki is a big chatter box, nosey, plays 20 Q with everyone & seems like a big head ache, but she's really funny and I think she likes Korra a lot. Meelo is the craziest of the 3 kids & I think everyone who's seen the show has fallen in love with how weird he is "Be the Leaf" *LOL* I'm really glad they came up with Meelo b/c he's just fun to watch & see what crazy things he'll do next.
Mako reminded me of Zuko the whole season b/c they're both quick to get angry I guess, but at least Mako can control his better & I was excited to see that he could also shoot lightning. I was upset with him the whole season b/c he couldn't choose who he liked the most between Korra & Asami, he just liked Asami for her looks & maybe b/c she's rich, but that's all it was. He actually clicked more with Korra & they could have normal conversations w/o there being a bunch of long pauses or making each other depressed by talking about their sob stories from when they were little like Asami was doing.
I thought it was cute how Mako turned out to start showing his soft side for Korra near the end though & was really worried about her when she was going out to do things by herself + actually told her he loved her. I can't wait to see how their relationship goes in season 2.
I fell in love with Bolin as soon as Korra met him & he defiantly reminds everyone of Sokka, except he's not as sarcastic & can actually fight *LOL* I was really hoping that Bolin would get to go out with Korra once Mako started dating Asami b/c him & Korra's personalities go way more together than Mako's. Just like with Asami, I think Korra just likes Mako for his looks + fighting skills etc. I will say that Bolin's funniest moment was when he caught Korra & Mako kissing, then started crying like a baby & ran away from the scene like a school girl *ROFL* I hope he gets to find a girlfriend in the 2nd season b/c he's a really great guy & he may not be as handsome as his older brother, but he still deserves a nice girl that'll appreciate him & Pabu.
I hated Asami as soon as she showed up & started flirting with Mako, I thought through the whole 1st season she was gonna betray everyone or do something evil, but she never did. In the last few episode she did start showing how jealous she was of Korra & started acting bitter towards Mako when he tried to talk things out with her w/o fighting. She's a good fighter, has helped Team Avatar out a lot & even took out her evil dad, but I still don't trust or like her. It may just be b/c of the makeup she wears, but I'm also reminded of Azula each time I look at her.
I was shocked to find out that Lin & Tenzin used to be together, she was still bitter towards him for breaking up with her in the beginning of the 1st season, but as they started working together to help Korra etc. she started to act like more of a friend. I was happy to see she knew metal bending & had a team of metal benders to protect the city. Toph would be very proud of her, they both have their little moments where they say or do something funny (zipping Bolin's pants) & they both like to do things on their own + are great earth benders. I really want to know how she got that scare on her face & who her father is b/c I know it's not Sokka when he had Sumi.
Tarrlok turned out to have a lot of surprising things that nobody knew about him or that we would of guessed, I already didn't like him b/c he was pushing for Korra to join his side etc. but once he kidnapped her that's when I started hating him for real. He's a 2 faced jerk & wanted to take over Republic City, he deserved to get his blood & water bending away from Amon b/c he just caused a bunch of problems for everyone. IDK what his deal with Tenzin is either, but was glad to see in the last episode of season 1 that he killed Amon & reveled who he really was to Korra.
Amon turned out to be a great villain for this season, he was really mysterious & I tried my best to figure out who he could of been, but to find out that he was actually Tarrlok's older brother shocked me. He was really clever to have put face makeup on to look like a scare from when "Fire benders took out his whole family" but I was confused when he took off his mask & wasn't the same complexion as he was when they showed the flashback of when him & Tarrlok were little. Maybe he bleached his skin or didn't get a lot of sun from wearing the mask all the time, IDK. But it was really crazy to find out he didn't have any "special" powers that took away peoples bending, he was just using blood bending. I loved when he got found out about being a lier, but it was also sad when his brother killed him while he was crying.
That's all the character's I'll talk about for this review, but as for the 1st season of LOK in general it was very entertaining & kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time trying to figure stuff out. I know it took 2 years to make this short season, but I'm already excited to see the 2nd season & find out what happened to all the old Avatar characters as they grew up. Glad to see that Katara is still alive BTW & really don't want to see her die b/c she's such a great character.
No comments:
Post a Comment