Saturday, February 25, 2012

Shampoos & pH

In Cosmetology we talked about all the different kinds of shampoos/cond. & what they're all used for/do + the pH in them. pH- A figure expressing the acidity or alkalinity of a solution on a logarithmic scale on which 7 is neutral, lower values are more acid, and higher values more
alkaline.



The pH scale for products runs from 0(lowest) to 14(highest) nothing more & nothing lesser than that. The pH of Battery Acid is 1.0-2.5 & if you know how bad battery acid is, just think how normal Relaxers have a pH of 12. Normal shampoos that you can buy in public places(not salons) have the same pH level as battery acid & can peel the paint off your car, some also has the same stuff that Comet Cleaner has inside it.

Sulfate-free shampoos & ones w a pH of 4-7 are ones you should look for to use. We talked about how when you see public places saleing prof. products in their store, it prob. is just: watered down, expired/old, or they have a salon in their store & that's why they have them(those should be OK, but you never know).

There are NO "White" or "Black" products & if you're gonna think that way(closed-minded) then you shouldn't be in cosmetology. Just repeating what we were told, I've had 2 bad stylists that were very ignorant & used to tell me I couldn't use Aussie Moist etc. bc it was for "White" hair. Products are made to treat different conditions of the hair, they're not just for one "race of hair" bc anybody can have: coarse, thin, thick, oily, dry etc. hair.

Also we talked about how ppl think something is gonna "make" their hair grow. Products coat, treat, & help your hair, but they can't MAKE your hair grow. You have to take care of your body(what you put in it) & take proper care of your hair. Also using products from cheap stores may also be damaging your hair.

Last thing: People think if they don't wanna go to college or drop out of high school, then they can "always go to beauty school" bc it's "easy", but really it's just like taking a nursing course & is VERY serious. That's why they're trying to get rid of that rumor bc a LOT of ppl drop out b4 the second semester bc they thought like that.

We are also tryin to stop ppl from hiring unlicensed stylists in their salons. In a lot of unprofessional salons they hire ppl who aren't licensed & let them trim, cut etc. ppl's hair. They just tell them not to do chemical services & the owner/licensed one does all of that. Always make sure that you see your stylist's license b4 you let them do your hair bc it is REQUIRED they have it hanging up in their booth.

TIPS: I never knew you were supposed to tip your stylist or shampoo person bc my mom is "cheap" & thought paying for the service was enough. But I learned that just paying for the service is only helping them pay for their booth & products/supplies(stylists rent booths in the salon & pay the owner to use it). Renting a booth can be $175 and up per week. But even stylist's tips are being taken up from the state board of cosmetology when they do their taxes. My teacher said that we could just give them half or a "little" bit of our tips when we get them though, as long as we don't try to turn nothing in bc the state board knows we're getting tips. It's really wrong that they started doing that though bc it's OUR money that we EARNED. You don't just give someone a tip for nothing.

No comments:

Post a Comment